Max Kade Institute

for German-American Studies
University of Wisconsin-Madison

All Events


Tuesday, October 10, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Saturday, September 30, 2017 -
10:00am to 4:30pm

Are you a historian trying to decipher old German handwritten documents? A genealogist researching your German-speaking ancestors? In this workshop, Mark Louden will introduce you to the basics of reading German handwritten materials, with a...

Read More
Thursday, September 21, 2017 - 6:00pm
Friday, July 28, 2017 - 3:00pm to Sunday, July 30, 2017 - 9:00pm

Visit the Max Kade Institute table in the Culture Pavilion at German Fest Milwaukee!

Sunday, May 7, 2017 -
2:00pm to 8:30pm

This year’s Friends of the Max Kade Institute Annual Meeting will take us to Milwaukee, where we will learn about the magnificent German art treasures that have been collected in the city for well over 150 years. We will begin with a private,...

Read More
Thursday, April 13, 2017 -
10:00am to 11:00am
Thursday, March 30, 2017 - 6:00pm to Saturday, April 1, 2017 - 2:00pm

Of the approximately 7,000 languages spoken around the world today, more than half are likely to no longer be spoken actively by the turn of the next century. In almost every case, these languages are spoken by groups of people,...

Read More
Saturday, March 25, 2017 -
1:00pm to 4:00pm
Saturday, March 4, 2017 -
10:00am to 11:30am

In the second half of the nineteenth century, immigrants from German-speaking Europe came to America in large numbers, including from the Prussian/ German province of Pomerania. Many Pomeranians settled in the Midwestern...

Read More