Max Kade Institute

for German-American Studies
University of Wisconsin-Madison

All Events

UPCOMING EVENTS

Saturday, March 25, 2017 -
1:00pm to 4:00pm
Thursday, March 30, 2017 - 6:00pm to Saturday, April 1, 2017 - 2:00pm

Of the approximately 7,000 languages spoken around the world today, more than half are likely to no longer be spoken actively by the turn of the next century. In almost every case, these languages are spoken by groups of people,...

Read More
Thursday, April 13, 2017 -
10:00am to 11:00am

PAST EVENTS

Saturday, March 4, 2017 -
10:00am to 11:30am

In the second half of the nineteenth century, immigrants from German-speaking Europe came to America in large numbers, including from the Prussian/ German province of Pomerania. Many Pomeranians settled in the Midwestern...

Read More
Wednesday, February 15, 2017 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm

For about a century, the German harmonica or mouth organ was one of the most popular musical instruments in the United States. About one billion harmonicas were imported from Germany between the 1870s and 1980s. Cheap and portable, it was the...

Read More
Monday, December 19, 2016 -
1:00pm to 2:00pm

Free and open to the public, but registration required. Call (773) 774-4804 to register before December 12.

Wednesday, December 14, 2016 -
6:00pm to 8:00pm

Stars have been part of Advent and Christmas celebrations from the earliest days of Christianity, but one star has become a ubiquitous decoration in Europe and America: the multi-point Moravian star.  Professor Petig’s presentation will trace the...

Read More
Wednesday, November 16, 2016 -
6:00pm to 8:00pm

Historical letters are a valuable source of information on the American immigrant experience. However, letters written in German and other immigrant languages are only accessible to those readers who speak the languages today. This lecture...

Read More
Sunday, November 13, 2016 -
4:00pm to 6:00pm

The event is sponsored by the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee with support of German government grant.

Presenters:
• Mark Louden (UW-Madison): “The Pennsylvania Dutch and German America”
• H. Glenn Penny (University of Iowa...

Read More
Saturday, November 12, 2016 -
11:00am to 12:00pm
Friday, November 11, 2016 -
3:30pm to 4:30pm
Monday, November 7, 2016 -
12:00pm to 1:00pm
Friday, November 4, 2016 -
6:00pm to 9:00pm

Join the Friends for an entertaining evening to benefit the Library of  the Max Kade Institute for German-American Studies!  

**Craft BEER from Bull Falls Brewery in Wausau
**German-style...

Read More