Max Kade Institute

for German-American Studies
University of Wisconsin-Madison

All Events

UPCOMING EVENTS

Monday, January 13, 2020 - 8:00am to Friday, February 28, 2020 - 6:00pm

Display of MKI's traveling exhibit “Neighbors Past and Present: the Wisconsin German Experience.” On fourteen panels that draw largely on images and resources from the MKI Library and Archives, the exhibit covers German migration and settlement...

Read More
Saturday, March 7, 2020 - 10:00am to Saturday, April 25, 2020 - 5:00pm

Display of MKI's traveling exhibit “Neighbors Past and Present: the Wisconsin German Experience.” On fourteen panels that draw largely on images and resources from the MKI Library and Archives, the exhibit covers German migration and settlement...

Read More

PAST EVENTS

Wednesday, December 4, 2019 - 9:00am to Tuesday, December 31, 2019 - 5:00pm

Display of MKI's traveling exhibit “Neighbors Past and Present: the Wisconsin German Experience.” On fourteen panels that draw largely on images and resources from the MKI Library and Archives, the exhibit covers German migration and settlement...

Read More
Saturday, November 9, 2019 - 2:00pm

This presentation is held in conjunction with the display of the Max Kade Institute's ...

Read More
Thursday, November 7, 2019 - 6:00pm
Tuesday, November 5, 2019 - 9:00am to Friday, December 27, 2019 - 4:00pm

Display of MKI's traveling exhibit “Neighbors Past and Present: the Wisconsin German Experience.” On fourteen panels that draw largely on images and resources from the MKI Library and...

Read More
Monday, November 4, 2019 - 12:00pm to Wednesday, November 27, 2019 - 6:00pm

Display of MKI's traveling exhibit “Neighbors Past and Present: the Wisconsin German Experience.” On fourteen panels that draw largely on images and resources from the MKI Library and Archives, the exhibit covers German migration and settlement...

Read More
Tuesday, October 29, 2019 - 6:00pm

Opening ceremony for MKI's  traveling exhibit "Neighbors Past and Present: The Wisconsin German Experience" in Madison. The exhibit will be displayed at the University Club Restaurant, first floor. Doors open at 5:30 pm. Lecture by MKI Director...

Read More
Monday, October 21, 2019 - 7:00pm

This presentation is held in conjunction with the the display of MKI's traveling exhibit "Neighbors Past and...

Read More
Saturday, October 19, 2019 -
9:00am to 3:00pm

Session I “All I know is they were from Germany”

Before you can do any meaningful family research in Europe, it is crucial to know where your ancestor lived at a certain time. This session will give advice on how to identify your ancestral...

Read More
Wednesday, October 16, 2019 - 6:00pm

Sorbs or Wends are a Slavic minority living in a region of eastern Germany that borders Poland and the Czech Republic. In the mid-19th century, many Sorbs/Wends immigrated to Australia, South Africa, South America, and Canada, with the largest...

Read More
Monday, October 14, 2019 - 1:30pm

This presentation is held in conjunction with the display of MKI's traveling exhibit "Neighbors Past and Present...

Read More